Menu

Academic Calendar

Morningside Academy – School Calendar
2016 – 2017

Class Times are:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday – 8:55 AM – 3:40 PM
Wednesday – 8:55 AM – 2:40 PM

September 2016

Tuesday, August 30 – Wednesday, September 7
Faculty Pre-Service

Wednesday, August 31
Social for Parents and Guardians of New Fall Students – 5:30 – 7:30 PM at Kent’s house.  Email aine@morningsideacademy.org for address and details.

Thursday, September 8
First day of school.  School begins at 8:55 AM, dismissal at 3:40 PM

Friday, September 9
Friends of Morningside Academy (FOMA) Meeting – 9:00 – 10:15 AM at Morningside. Coffee and conversation.  A chance for Parents & Guardians to help plan social activities for students and families.  All are invited!

Tuesday, September 13
Parent & Guardian Education Night – 7:00-8:15 PM. Kent will be talking to parents and guardians about our Generative Instruction Model. Childcare is available. All are invited!

Tuesday, September 20
Program Placement Day – No school for students

Wednesday, September 28
All School Family Potluck – 6:00 – 7:30 PM.  Bring the whole family!

October 2016

Friday, October 21
Professional Development Day – No school for students

UPDATED EVENT (Formerly 10/19)

Wednesday, October 26
“A Day in the Life” – 6:30 – 8:30 PM.  Be a Morningside student for the evening! Curriculum night for parents and guardians.

Friday, October 28
School Photo Day

November 2016

Thursday, November 10
Family Game Night – 6:15-8:15 PM. Dinner and games provided.

Friday, November 11
Veteran’s Day – No school

Monday, November 14 – Friday,  November 18
Fall Conferences – 12:30 PM dismissal for students.

Wednesday, November 23 – Friday, November 25
Thanksgiving Break – No school

Monday, November 28
Professional Development Day – No school for students

Wednesday, November 30
Parent and Guardian Education Night – 7:00-8:15 PM – Kent will be talking to parents and guardians about our Transactional Analysis (TA) model. Childcare is available.

December 2016

Monday, December 19 – Monday, January 2
Winter Break – No school

January 2017
Tuesday, January 3
School resumes

Friday, January 13
Professional Development Day – No school for students

Monday, January 16
Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No school

Thursday, January 19
Gala/Auction Kick Off – 6:00-7:00 PM.
Parent and Guardian Education Night – 7:00 – 8:15 PM. Kent will be presenting his second Transactional Analysis talk to parents and guardians, called “I’m OK, You’re OK.” Childcare is available. All are invited!

February 2017
Thursday, February 9
Winter Snow Field Trip

Friday, February 10
Professional Development Day – No school for students

Monday, February 20  – Friday, February 24
Presidents’ Day and Mid-Winter break – No school

Monday, February 27 – Friday, March 3
Winter Conferences – 12:30 PM dismissal for students

March 2017
Friday, March 24
All School Family Dance. Bring the whole family!  6:00 – 8:45 PM

April 2017
Monday, April 10 – Friday, April 14
Spring Break – No school

Monday, April 24
Professional Development Day – No school for students.

May 2017
Friday, May 5 
12th Annual Gala Auction.  Celebrate Morningside!

Friday, May 12
Professional Development Day – No school for students

Friday, May 26 – Tuesday, May 30
Association for Behavior Analysis International (ABAI) Conference – No school for students

June 2017
Monday, June 12
Summer School Testing – No school for students

Friday, June 16
Wild Waves field trip

Monday, June 19
Last day of school. Awards & Farewell Ceremonies – Student breakfast potluck.

Tuesday, June 20 – Friday, June 23
End of Year Conferences